Top Moments: 2024 Finalists

From punchouts to home runs, and shutouts to record-breakers, this year’s Golden Spikes Award finalist trio truly did it all in 2024. Let’s take a look at Hagen Smith, Charlie Condon, and Travis Bazzana’s best moments from their epic seasons at the top of the amateur baseball world.

Hagen Smith, Arkansas

The lone pitcher on this year’s Golden Spikes finalist list, Smith had a 2024 campaign to remember, one that was highlighted by his legendary 17-strikeout performance in just the second game of Arkansas’ season. In a tough, nonconference bout with Oregon State, Smith’s 17 punchouts tied a school record for the most in a single game and kicked off his dominant season. Throwing all 17 in just six innings, the junior also shutout the Beavers in his team’s win that night.

Smith made history in more than one way after his team’s extra-innings bout with Texas A&M late in the season. The Razorback tallied his 11th game of the season with double-digit strikeouts after flaming 14 against the Aggies. Furthermore, Smith’s 14 punchouts over six shutout innings earned him the title of Arkansas all-time strikeout leader.

Smith continually stymied opposing offenses all season long, regularly throwing for ten, eleven, or even 14 strikeouts in his outings. Like his six-inning, 14-punchout performance against Kentucky, Smith was consistently dominant on the mound. In fact, it was rare for him to throw for less than 10 K’s on any given night, and the Wildcats found that out the hard way in their 10-3 loss to the Hogs.

The Golden Spikes finalist had a special night when his team captured a close 2-1 win over Florida in late April. Thanks in large part to Smith’s seven scoreless innings, the junior tossed 11 K’s, crossing him over the 300-strikeout threshold in his career with the Hogs.

Charlie Condon, Georgia

One of, if not the most impressive slugger in the game, Georgia’s Condon shattered records everywhere this season. However, he started his historic 2024 campaign with a dizzying three-home run performance in just the second week of the Bulldogs’ season against Michigan State.

The hard-hitting redshirt sophomore is best known for shattering the college game’s BBCOR home run record. Passing his fellow Collegiate National Team alum Jac Caglianone, Condon hit his 34th home run of the season against South Carolina in Columbia, receiving cheers from fans back in Athens and baseball fanatics around the country alike.

Over the course of the season, Condon tallied a whopping seven multi-home run games and homered in eight consecutive games between April 26 and May 9. Early in the season though, Condon smashed three total home runs in Georgia’s doubleheader against Alabama. Helping his team win the series then and there, the slugger terrorized the Crimson Tide all day long, hitting one homer in the early bout and two in the latter one.

Condon smashed his 36th home run of the season in the NCAA Tournament on May 31. As he clubbed a solo shot to deep left field on just his opponent’s fifth pitch, Condon cut his team’s early deficit in half and hit his first NCAA tourney home run of his career.

Travis Bazzana, Oregon State

Bazzana spent almost all of his time this season in the leadoff spot. However, the junior did more than just get on base — he hit bombs. Bazzana hit leadoff home runs more than once in his 2024 season with Oregon State, including this first-inning solo shot that was good for the 34th homer of his career, tying the Beavers’ all-time record.

As many’s highest-rated 2024 MLB Draft prospect, Bazzana kept on making his case for the No. 1 overall pick in the NCAA Tournament. Bazzana homered in back-to-back days while leading his Oregon State Beavers in regional play, one of which he pulled down the right field line all the way into the stands in Corvallis.

While he hit 28 homers in his head-turning 2024 season, Bazzana smashed five of those within a 24-hour span while at Washington State and Gonzaga. Hitting three long balls against the Cougars in one night—one of which earned him Oregon State’s single-season record for homers—and hitting two against the Bulldogs in the next, Bazzana couldn’t and wouldn’t be stopped during those two games.

Bazzana’s 35th blast of his career — and 18th of the season — was a special occasion for him and the rest of Oregon State. The Australia-native broke his school’s all-time home run record with the bomb in the Beavers’ bout with Portland, further cementing himself in his program’s record books.